Celebration of Poetry and Teaching

Thursday, April 11, 2024 6:00 PM to 8:30 PM EDT
Horizon Hall, 4th Floor English Department


Join the MFA program and the English department in honoring and celebrating professors Eric Pankey and Jennifer Atkinson. As poets, teachers, and mentors, they have left their indelible mark on our creative writing community and countless students and poets.

This spring semester marks Eric's final one at Mason and Jen retired in the fall of 2020 when we were separated due to the pandemic. We're thrilled to be able to gather and honor these two outstanding poets and professors.

RECEPTION 6pm-7:15-ish Join us in the English Department on the 4th floor of Horizon Hall 
PROGRAM 7:30-8:30pm in Fenwick Reading Room (Room #2001)

Please RSVP by Monday, April 8.

Eric Pankey (MFA, University of Iowa, 1983) is the author of many collections of poems: For the New Year (Atheneum 1984), which was selected as the winner of the Walt Whitman, Heartwood (Atheneum 1988), which was reissued by Orchises Press in 1998,  Apocrypha (Alfred A. Knopf 1991), The Late Romances (Alfred A. Knopf 1997), Cenotaph (Alfred A. Knopf 2000), Oracle Figures (Ausable Press 2003), Reliquaries (Ausable Press 2005), The Pear as One Example: New and Selected Poems (Ausable Press 2008), Trace (Milkweed Editions 2013), Dismantling the Angel (Free Verse Editions 2013), which won the New Measures Prize, Crow-Work (Milkweed Editions 2015), Augury (Milkweed Editions 2017), The Owl of Minerva (Milkweed Editions 2019), Vestiges: Notes, Responses, and Essays 1988-2018 (Parlor Press 2019), Alias: Prose Poems (Free Verse Editions 2020) and Not Yet Transfigured (Orison Books 2021), and The Future Perfect: A Fugue (Tupelo Press 2022), which won the 2020 Snowbound Chapbook Award, is out from Tupelo Press now. Two new books are forthcoming: The History of the Siege (Codhill Press 2024) and Vanishments (Slant Books 2024). He has received fellowships from John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, The National Endowment for the Arts, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the Brown Foundation.

Jennifer Atkinson is the author of six collections of poetry--The Dogwood Tree, The Drowned City, Drift Ice, Canticle of the Night PathThe Thinking Eye, and most recently, A Gray Realm the Ocean, which won the Poets Out Loud prize from Fordham University Press. Her poetry can be seen in Field, The Cincinnati Review, The Missouri Review, Beloit Poetry Journal, Bennington Review, Image, and elsewhere. Both her poetry and her nonfiction have been honored with Pushcart Prizes. She taught in Nepal and Japan and at the University of Iowa and Washington University before joining the faculty of George Mason University, where she taught Creative Writing, Poetry Writing (at the graduate and undergraduate levels), and recent and contemporary American poetry.

Invitation design by Bri Chapman (MFA, Poetry 2024)

Add this event to your calendar